This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: December 19, 2014
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Rachel Thomas, 804-225-4262, | Secretary of the Commonwealth’s Office, Denise Burch,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will build a new Virginia economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.


Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments 

Board of Directors of the Virginia Recreational Facilities Authority 

  • K.C. Bratton* of Roanoke, Supervising Real Estate Appraiser, City of Roanoke
  • Carolyn D. Fidler* of Vinton, Retired
  • David Hurt* of Hardy, Owner and Operator, Truman Hill Farm; Realtor, MKB Realtors
  • Deborah Pitts of Hardy, Retired
  • Bill Tanger* of Roanoke, Retired Business Owner; Chairman, Friends of the Rivers of Virginia
  • Shawn M. Utt of Pulaski, Town Manager, Town of Pulaski 

State Rehabilitation Council for the Blind and Vision Impaired 

  • Justin Graves of Fredericksburg, President, CEO, HESONWHEELS
  • Kenneth W. Jessup of Virginia Beach, Lobbyist, Ken Jessup and Associates 

The Commonwealth Council on Bridging the Nutritional Divide 

  • J. Micheal Babbin of Alexandria, Principal, Neighborhood Restaurant Group; Founder and Chairman, Arcadia Center for Sustainable Food and Agriculture
  • Dave Belde of Richmond, Vice President, Bon Secours
  • Travis Croxton of Hanover, Oyster Farmer and Restaurateur, Rappahannock Oyster Company
  • Catherine Digilio Grimes, MS, RDN, LDN, SNS of Bowling Green, Director of the Office of School Nutrition, Virginia Department of Education
  • Andrea S. Early, MS, RD of Staunton, Director of School Nutrition, Harrisonburg City Public Schools
  • Shane Emmett of Richmond, CEO, Health Warrior
  • Nancy Z. Farrell, MS, RDN of Fredericksburg, State Public Policy Representative, Virginia Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
  • Julie A. Gifford, MBA of Virginia Beach, Regional Military Liaison to the Secretary of Veterans and Defense Affairs, Office of the Governor
  • Basil I. Gooden, PhD of Richmond, State Director, United States Department of Agriculture – Rural Development
  • Meg Gruber of Midlothian, President, Virginia Education Association
  • Jewel E. Hairston, PhD of Chester, Dean of the College of Agriculture, Virginia State University
  • DeAngelo Hall of Chesapeake, Cornerback, Washington Redskins
  • The Honorable Emmett W. Hanger, Jr. of Rockingham, Member, Senate of Virginia
  • Jane Henderson of Richmond, President and CEO, Virginia Community Capital
  • Heidi L. Hertz, MS, RD of Richmond, Obesity Prevention Coordinator, Virginia Foundation for Healthy Youth
  • Amy Hewett of Richmond, Senior Director, Government Relations – Virginia, American Heart Association
  • Rick Hood of Richmond, Owner, Ellwood Thompsons
  • Reverend Pamela Irvine of Clifton Forge, President and CEO, Feeding America Southwest Virginia
  • Elizabeth Ivery of Abingdon, Manager of School Nutrition Programs, Washington County Schools
  • Edwin Jones, PhD of Blacksburg, Director, Virginia Cooperative Extension
  • Cynthia D. Lawrence of Roanoke, Founding Chair, Food for Thought - An Edible Education Partnership
  • Reverend Warren J. Lesane, Jr. of Richmond, Executive and Stated Clerk, Synod of the Mid-Atlantic
  • Keira L. Lombardo of Williamsburg, Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs, Smithfield Foods, Inc.
  • James S. Mauney of Salem, Bishop, Virginia Synod, ELCA
  • The Honorable Delores L. McQuinn of Richmond, Member, Virginia House of Delegates; Associate Minister, New Bridge Baptist Church
  • Susan C. Mele, EdD of Bedford, Principal, Stewartsville Elementary School
  • Bill Murray of Henrico, Managing Director, Public Policy and Senior Advisor (Health Policy), Dominion Resources
  • Spencer Neale of Hanover, Director of the Commodity Marketing Department, Virginia Farm Bureau; Chairman, Virginia Food Systems Council
  • Helen E. Phillips of Virginia Beach, Senior Director, School Nutrition, Norfolk Public Schools
  • Douglas H. Pick of Richmond, CEO, FeedMore
  • Rosalea R. Potter of Lexington, Manager, Donald’s Meat Processing
  • Stephanie B. Robinson of Richmond, Director of Marketing and Development, Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
  • Bill Shelton of Chesterfield, Director, Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development
  • Torrey Smith of Baltimore, MD, Wide Receiver, Baltimore Ravens
  • Tom Steinhauser of New Kent, Director of the Division of Benefit Programs, Virginia Department of Social Services
  • Tom Stenzel of Alexandria, Association Manager, United Fresh Produce Association
  • Duke Storen of Spottsylvania, Senior Director, Share Our Strength
  • Kathlyn Terry of Abingdon, Executive Director, Appalachian Sustainable Development
  • Camilla D. Washington of Fluvanna, Clinical Educator and Transformation of Care Coordinator, Martha Jefferson Hospital
  • Michael J. Welch, PhD of Richmond, Director of the Division of Community Nutrition, Virginia Department of Health
  • Joan E. Wodiska of Falls Church, Member, Virginia State Board of Education 

Virginia Criminal Sentencing Commission 

  • Kemba Smith Pradia of Virginia Beach, Author, public speaker, criminal justice advocate; Founder, Kemba Smith Foundation
  • Emily Renda of Charlottesville, Project Coordinator, University of Virginia Office of the Vice President & Chief Student Affairs Officer
  • The Honorable Shannon L. Taylor of Richmond, Commonwealth’s Attorney for Henrico County


*denotes reappointment