This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: February 18, 2014
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy, 804-225-4260

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will grow Virginia’s economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth. 


Secretariat of Commerce and Trade 

Kelly Spraker, Confidential Assistant to the Secretary of Commerce and Trade

Kelly Spraker has been appointed by Governor McAuliffe to serve as the Confidential Assistant to the Secretary of Commerce and Trade.  Prior to her appointment to the Administration, Kelly worked for CarLotz, Inc., a local car consignment business. She previously served as Special Assistant to the Deputy Chief of Staff and Commissioner at the Virginia Department of Social Services during the administration of Governor Mark Warner.  Kelly received a Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing from James Madison University.



Secretariat of Health and Human Resources 

Margaret Schultze, Commissioner of the Department of Social Services

Margaret Schultze has been appointed by Governor McAuliffe to serve as Commissioner of the Department of Social Services. Margaret’s experience in state government began in 1997, as director of the gubernatorially appointed Family and Children's Trust Fund. In that role she raised resources and awareness for the prevention and treatment of family violence, including child abuse and neglect, domestic violence, sexual assault, and elder abuse. She assumed increasingly responsible roles within the department culminating in her current position as Commissioner. Ms. Schultze oversees both programmatic and administrative functions within the Virginia Department of Social Services. VDSS is one of the largest Commonwealth agencies, partnering with 119 local departments of social services, along with faith-based and non-profit organizations, to support families and improve communities statewide. A native of Roanoke, Virginia, she graduated from Hollins University (formerly Hollins College) with a Bachelor of Arts in Biology and a teacher certification.



Secretariat of Natural Resources 

Russ Baxter, Deputy Secretary of Natural Resources for the Chesapeake Bay

Prior to this appointment Russ Baxter was the Chesapeake Bay Coordinator for the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ).   Prior to his work at the DEQ, he served as Acting Director and Chief Deputy Director of the Department of Conservation and Recreation (DCR).  From 2002 until 2005, Baxter served as Assistant Secretary of Natural Resources under Secretary W. Tayloe Murphy, Jr. in the office of Governor Mark Warner and was primarily responsible for the Commonwealth’s commitments under the multi-state Chesapeake 2000 Agreement. Baxter also served at the Chesapeake Bay Commission, the Virginia Conservation Network and the Chesapeake Bay Foundation. During his professional career he has addressed legislative, policy, and programmatic issues related to point and nonpoint source pollution control, habitat restoration, land conservation, outdoor recreation, fisheries management and land use. Baxter holds a master’s degree in environmental planning from the University of Virginia and a bachelor’s degree in Government from Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio.



Secretariat of Technology 

Raina Washington, Executive Assistant to the Secretary of Technology

Raina Washington has an extensive background in the legal field with twelve years of experience working in defense legal work as a legal secretary and paralegal for various law firms in the Metro Richmond area.  Raina also worked to promote higher education with the Upward Bound program through Virginia Union University. She is currently enrolled as a full-time student on the Dean’s list with Ashford University where she is studying Social and Criminal Justice with a specialization in Political Science & Government to obtain her Bachelor of Art degree.