This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: September 9, 2016
Contacts: Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office: Denise Burch,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Board Appointments


 Advisory Board on Service and Volunteerism

  • Jessica M. Bowser* of Alexandria, Professional Educator and Advocate for Public Education
  • The Honorable John Taylor Chapman* of Alexandria, Councilman, City of Alexandria
  • The Honorable Terry C. Frye, MCR, JD* of Bristol, Commissioner of Revenue, City of Bristol
  • Zachary Leonsis of Washington, DC, Vice President & General Manager, Monumental Sports Network, Monumental Sports & Entertainment
  • Amy P. Nisenson* of Manakin-Sabot, Executive Director of The Mary Morton Parsons Foundation and non-profit consultant
  • Julie M. Strandlie, Esq. of Alexandria, Government Relations/Grassroots Advocacy Consultant; Commissioner, Fairfax County Planning Commission
  • Steven A. Valdez, BSBA* of Arlington, Management Consultant, Pricewaterhouse Coopers (PwC)


Board of Housing and Community Development

  • Helen Hardiman of Richmond, Vice President of Law and Policy, Housing Opportunities Made Equal of Virginia, Inc. (HOME)
  • C. Richard Napier of Midlothian, President, Napier Signature Homes, Inc.
  • Earl B. Reynolds Jr. of Danville, Deputy City Manager, City of Danville
  • Jeffrey Sadler of Norfolk, CEO, Ecovative Energy Inc.
  • Steven M. Semones* of Christiansburg, Vice President, Balzer and Associates, Inc.


Commission on Youth

  • Karrie Delaney of Chantilly, Chairman, Fairfax County Library Board of Trustees
  • The Honorable Chris Rehak of Radford, Commonwealth’s Attorney, City of Radford


Small Business Commission

  • The Honorable E. Dana Dickens III* of Suffolk, Realtor, Howard Hanna William E. Wood
  • Betty Jolly of Richmond, Owner, Betty Jolly, LLC
  • Vickie Williams-Cullins, MPA of Hampton, Executive Director, OPN-door Communications: A Mediation and Corporate Training Firm


Virginia Housing Development Authority

  • Clarissa McAdoo Cannion of Suffolk,former Executive Director, Suffolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority
  • Thomas A. Gibson, PMP, LEED AP BD+C of Arlington, Project Director, Winn Development and 1stLT USMCR
  • David E. Ramos of Fairfax, Vice President / Regional Multicultural Banking Officer, BB&T Bank


Virginia Interagency Coordinating Council

  • Kristine PJ Torres Caalim* of Virginia Beach, advocate for patients with rare diseases; nominee for Patient Advocate of the year for Global Genes 2015; member, Partner in Policymaking class of 2015
  • Bonnie M. Grifa* of Chesapeake, State Early Childhood Mental Health Coordinator, The Partnership for People with Disabilities, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Kathleen M. McCauley, Esq.* of Richmond, Moran Reeves Conn, PC; Adjunct Professor of Law, University of Richmond, T. C. Williams School of Law
  • The Honorable Daun Sessoms Hester* of Norfolk, Member, Virginia House of Delegates


Virginia War Memorial Board

  • Robert C. Hannon, CWO3 USN (Ret.) of Smithfield, past Department Commander, American Legion Department of Virginia
  • Josh King, SPC USA of Woodbridge, Deputy Sherriff, Fairfax County
  • Frances Caroline Lane, LCDR USN (Ret.)* of McLean
  • Kathleen Purdy Owens, CDR USNR (Ret.)* of Virginia Beach, President, Beach Development Group
  • Naveed Shah, SPC USA of Fairfax, Realtor, Keller Williams Realty and Leadership Fellow, Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America (IAVA)

  *denotes reappointment