This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: August 5, 2016
Contacts: Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office: Denise Burch,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his Administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s Administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will build a new Virginia economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.

Office of the Governor

Jennie O’Holleran, Policy Director

Jennie O’Holleran has been promoted to the position of Policy Director. Jennie has served the McAuliffe Administration since January 2014 as Deputy Secretary of Education and as Senior Policy Advisor to the Governor. Prior to that, she served as Director of Virginia Relations at the George Washington University. She previously served in Governor Timothy M. Kaine’s policy office. A native of Alexandria, Virginia, Jennie received her Bachelor’s degree from the University of Virginia and her Master’s degree in Public Administration from The George Washington University.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

Assistive Technology Loan Fund Authority

  • Dean J. Bonney, MBA* of Arlington, Trusted Advisor, The MITRE Corporation
  • Brian Taylor* of Richmond, Senior Vice President Union Bank & Trust


Board of Nursing

  • Joyce A. Hahn, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FNAP* of Oak Hill, Associate Professor, George Washington University, School of Nursing
  • Dustin S. Ross, DNP, MBA, RN of Chesapeake, Nurse Manager, Chesapeake Regional Healthcare


Board of Veterinary Medicine 

  • Tregel Cockburn, DVM of Sterling, Veterinarian and Professor at Northern Virginia Community College
  • Steven B. Karras, DVM of Roanoke, Veterinarian-in-Charge of Cave Spring Veterinary Clinic


Cave Board

  • Robert K Denton Jr., CPG, LPSS* of Winchester, Senior Geologist, GeoConcepts Engineering, Inc.
  • David Ek* of Catlett, Chief of Resource Management, Prince William Forest Park, National Park Service
  • Richard A. “Rick” Lambert* of Monterey, President, Virginia Speleological Society


Commission for the Arts

  • Matthew Conrad of Richmond, Executive Director of Government and Board Relations, Virginia Commonwealth University and Health System
  • Abigail Gomez of Winchester, Visual Artist, Teaching Artist, Arts Advocate and Small Business Owner
  • Kathleen O’Hare of Chatham,Pianist, Teacher, Past President, Danville Concert Association


Southern Regional Education Board

  • Leanna Blevins, PhD of Martinsville, Acting Executive Director, New College Institute


Southern Virginia Higher Education Center Board of Trustees 

  • J. Charles Lee, PhD of Clarksville, Member, Southern Virginia Higher Education Foundation; retired, former president, Mississippi State University


Virginia Council on the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children 

  • The Honorable John C. Harvey Jr. of Vienna, Secretary of Veterans and Defense Affairs, Commonwealth of Virginia; Admiral, U. S. Navy (Ret.)


Virginia Land Conservation Foundation 

  • The Honorable Robert W. Lazaro Jr.* of Purceville, Acting Executive Director, Northern Virginia Regional Commission; former Mayor, Town of Purceville
  • Russell Vern Presley II of Keen Mountain, Partner, Street Law Firm, LLP
  • John Paul Woodley Jr.* of Burke,Principal, Advantus Strategies, LLC