This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: July 1, 2016
Contacts: Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office: Denise Burch,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his Administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s Administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will build a new Virginia economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.

Office of the Governor

Elizabeth “Liz” Natonski, Assistant Director of Intergovernmental Affairs

Liz Natonski has been promoted to Assistant Director of Intergovernmental Affairs. She has served as Deputy Director of Scheduling since the beginning of the administration. Liz served as the scheduler for Governor-elect McAuliffe's transition team. Liz attended John Carroll University and earned a Bachelor's degree in Political Science.


Secretariat of Commerce and Trade

Hayes Framme, Deputy Secretary of Commerce and Trade

Hayes Framme has been appointed to the position of Deputy Secretary of Commerce and Trade. Since 2014, Hayes served as Advisor for Infrastructure and Development in the office of the Secretary of Commerce and Trade.  Prior to joining the administration, Hayes worked as a public affairs professional for a Richmond-based public affairs firm. Hayes graduated from the College of Charleston in South Carolina with a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science, and received his Master’s of Business Administration from DePaul University in Chicago, Illinois.


Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

Aerospace Advisory Council

  • Peter Bale* of Chincoteague, CEO, Sentinel Robotic Solutions
  • Matt Bannon* of Virginia Beach, Director, Strategy and Marketing, ATAC, A Textron Company
  • Oktay Baysal* of Virginia Beach, Professor and Dean of Engineering, Old Dominion University
  • Dave Bowles* of Suffolk, Director, NASA Langley Research Center
  • The Honorable Fernando “Marty” Martinez* of Leesburg, Senior Systems Engineer/Consultant, SAIC; member, Leesburg Town Council
  • James C. McDaniel Jr., PhD* of Albemarle, Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of Virginia
  • Dale K. Nash* of Virginia Beach, Executive Director, Virginia Commercial Space Flight Authority
  • Rose Mooney* of Baltimore County, MD, Executive Director, Virginia Tech and Mid Atlantic Aviation Partnership
  • Daniel Tani* of Fairfax, Senior Director, Orbital ATK
  • Todd McGregor Yeatts* of Arlington, Senior Manager, Government Operations, The Boeing Company
  • William A. Wrobel* of Accomack, Director, NASA’s Wallops Flight Facility


Advisory Board on Genetic Counseling 

  • Heather A. Creswick, MS, CGC of Richmond, Genetic Counselor, Clinical Faculty, Genetic Counseling Training Program, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • John M. Quillin, PhD, MPH, MS of Mechanicsville, Genetic Counselor, Assistant Professor, Human and Molecular Genetics, Family Medicine and Population Health, Virginia Commonwealth University             
  • Matthew J. Thomas, ScM, CGC of Charlottesville, Genetic Counselor, Division of Genetics, Department of Pediatrics, University of Virginia School of Medicine


Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders Commission

  • Sharon Davis* of Arlington, retired Archivist for Hon. John D. Dingell Jr., former Member of Congress, former Chief Clerk, Committee on Energy and Commerce, U. S. House of Representatives
  • Karen H. Garner of Newport News, Advisor, Writer and Consultant, Home Instead Senior Care
  • Valerie Hopson-Bell, CMC* of Fredericksburg, Geriatric Care Advisor, ElderCare Connections, LLC
  • G. Richard Jackson, MPA, CSA of Williamsburg, System Director, The Riverside Center for Excellence in Aging and Lifelong Health; Executive Director, Choose Home
  • Katherine A. Kennedy of Midlothian, retired, former Human Resource Director, VA Dept. of General Services


Behavioral Health and Developmental Services Board

  • John R. Bruggeman, MBA of Vienna, Director, Special Publishing, American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
  • Paula N. Mitchell, MBA* of Roanoke, Vice President, Behavioral Health Services, LewisGale Regional Health System
  • Elizabeth Hilscher of Richmond, Partner of Transitions Design-Build, LLC
  • Jennifer Spangler of Midlothian, freelance research associate


Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services

  • Neil Houff of Mount Crawford, President, Houff’s Feed & Fertilizer Co. Inc.
  • Kevin J. Kordek* of Virginia Beach, Manager, J.C. Ehrlich/Rentokil North America


Board of Historic Resources

  • Colita Nichols Fairfax, PhD of Hampton, Associate Professor, Norfolk State University
  • Nosuk Pak Kim of Newport News, Partner, Cowardin Kim & Riddle Law Firm


Board of Visitors for Eastern Virginia Medical School

  • The Honorable Paul D. Fraim of Norfolk, former Mayor, City of Norfolk


Commonwealth Transportation Board

  • F. Gary Garczynski* of Alexandria, President, National Capital Land and Development, Inc.; Chairman, Federal Home Loan Bank of Atlanta
  • The Honorable Mary Hughes Hynes of Arlington, former Member, Arlington County Board
  • Jerry L. Stinson II of Lebanon, Program Director – Administration of Justice, Southwest Virginia Community College
  • F. Dixon Whitworth Jr.* of Winchester, retired Regional President, BB&T
  • Greg Yates* of Culpeper, Developer, Yates Properties, LLC


Family and Children’s Trust Fund, Board of Trustees

  • Frank Blechman* of Fairfax Station, self-employed organizational consultant
  • L. Robert Bolling* of Henrico, Chief Executive Officer, ChildSavers
  • Linda H. Gilliam, PhD of Richmond, retired Educational Administrator, Henrico Public Schools
  • Liliana Hernandez, MSW, MPP of Arlington, Child Welfare Program Specialist, Children's Bureau, U.S. Department of Health & Human Resources
  • Yasmine Taeb* of Arlington, Legislative Representative, Friends Committee on National Legislation


Joint Leadership Council of Veterans Service Organizations

  • Lauren Augustine, SGT USAR of Woodbridge (representing Iraq and Afghanistan Veterans of America - IAVA)
  • William Barrett Jr., COL USA (Ret.)* of Midlothian (representing Military Order of the World Wars)
  • Bob Huffman, CSM USA (Ret.)* of Colonial Heights (representing Virginia Army/Air National Guard Enlisted Association)
  • Kenneth B. Shelton Sr., SSgt USMC (Ret.) of Richmond (representing Fifth Baptist Church Veterans Ministry)


Real Estate Board

  • Libby Clawson Gatewood of Chester, Managing Broker, Napier Realtors ERA Colonial Heights Office
  • Lynn G. Grimsley*of Yorktown, Broker Associate, RE/MAX Peninsula
  • Steve Hoover* of Roanoke, Partner, MKB Realtors


Small Grains Board

  • Ray Keating of Norfolk, Merchandiser, Perdue Agribusiness, Chesapeake, VA


Virginia Commonwealth University Health System Authority, Board of Directors

  • May H. Fox of Richmond, Director, Government Relations, Eckert Seamans Cherin & Mellott, LLC
  • Michelle Y. Whitehurst-Cook, MD of Highland Springs, Associate Dean for Admissions, VCU School of Medicine


Virginia Economic Development Partnership

  • Valerie K. Brown, DM of Chesapeake, Executive Pastor, Mount Lebanon Global Fellowship of Churches

*denotes reappointment