This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: May 16, 2014
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy, 804-225-4260

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will grow Virginia’s economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.


Secretariat of Commerce and Trade 

Susan Y. “Syd” Dorsey, Advisor for Small Business Development Department of Small Business and Supplier Diversity

Syd Dorsey was the head of marketing and sales for Astyra Corporation, a Virginia minority business. Prior to that, Ms. Dorsey and spent 19 years with IBM Corporation with her last assignment as Global Marketing Manager for the State and Local Government Industries, including as IBM’s liaison to the National Governors’ Association, National Association of Counties, and National League of Cities. Ms. Dorsey previously served eight years on the University of Virginia Board of Visitors as a member of its Executive Committee and Chair of the Special Committee on Diversity and holds a B.S. in Architecture and an M.B.A from the University of Virginia.


Secretariat of Finance 

Janet A. Aylor, Deputy Secretary of Finance

Janet Aylor currently serves as the Assistant Director of Debt Management for the Virginia Department of the Treasury.  As part of her duties she is the manager of the Virginia College Building Authority and for the past year, the Virginia Public School Authority. Ms. Aylor joined Treasury in July of 2001, after serving as Debt Manager for the Virginia Department of Transportation.  Prior to that, she spent twelve years as Director of Finance for the Virginia Resources Authority and seven years as an analyst with the Virginia Department of Planning and Budget.  She holds both B.A. and M.B.A. degrees from the College of William and Mary, and is a graduate of the Virginia Executive Institute and the National Institute for Public Finance.


Secretariat of Natural Resources 

Stephanie Bishop Williams, Deputy Director, Department of Historic Resources

Stephanie Bishop Williams is from Brunswick County, and graduated from Saint Mary’s School in Raleigh, North Carolina, in 1990. She earned her undergraduate degree from the College of Charleston in 1994 and her Master’s degree from North Carolina State University in 2004. In the past several years, she has worked at the Division of Legislative Services as an Associate Researcher and has also served as adjunct professor of English at John Tyler Community College.


Janet Lychock, Confidential Assistant for Policy, Department of Environmental Quality

Janet Lychock most recently worked as a cost analyst on the decade-long, multi-national Atacama Large Millimeter Array (ALMA) radio telescope construction project, based in the Republic of Chile and sponsored, in part, by the National Science Foundation.  Prior to that, Ms. Lychock worked as a research analyst in the fields of finance and telecommunications.  She received her B.S. degree from the School of Languages and Linguistics at Georgetown University and her M.B.A. from Virginia Tech. 


Secretariat of Public Safety 

Karen Brown, Chair, Virginia Parole Board

Karen Brown was appointed Vice-Chair of the Virginia Parole Board by former Governor Robert McDonnell in 2011.  She began her legal career as a judicial law clerk at the Superior Court of the District of Columbia. Ms. Brown served in the Newport News and Chesapeake Offices of the Commonwealth's Attorney for 16 years.  In that capacity, she prosecuted cases in the Juvenile and Domestic Relations, General District and Circuit Courts with a concentration on child abuse and sexual assault cases.  She graduated from Hampton University with a B.A. degree in Psychology.  She received her J.D. from George Mason University School of Law in 1991, and was admitted to the bar that same year. 


Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments 

Health and Human Resources

Board of Optometry 

  • Devon Cabot of Woodbridge, Aide to Supervisor Frank Principi, Prince William County
  • Dr. Helene Clayton-Jeter, O.D., of Great Falls, Health Program Coordinator, U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Office of Health and Constituent Affairs


Board of Social Services


  • Lou Ali of Richmond, City Clerk, Council Chief of Staff, City of Richmond
  • Sheila Coppage of Norfolk, Resident Service Specialist, Norfolk Redevelopment and Housing Authority
  • Mona Malik of Great Falls, President, Peaceful Families Project
  • Clyde Santana of Norfolk, Commander, USNR-R-RET; Retired, Assistant Special Agent in Charge, Virginia Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control

Kent Willis of Arlington, Retired, Executive Director, American Civil Liberties Union