This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: September 8, 2017
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy, 804-225-4260, | Secretariat of the Commonwealth, Caroline Corl,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his Administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s Administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will build a new Virginia economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.


Office of the Governor

Jae K. Davenport, Deputy Counsel to the Governor
Jae K. Davenporthas been appointed Deputy Counsel to the Governor. Prior to her arrival, Jae K. was the Standards of Practice Enforcement and Legal Training Attorney for the Virginia Indigent Defense Commission (VIDC). She oversaw the enforcement of the mandatory standards of practice, certification of court-appointed counsel and legal training for all public defenders and certified attorneys. She was also a legislative advocate for the VIDC. Previous to her position at the VIDC, Jae K. was a public defender in Franklin, Virginia where she represented juveniles and adults charged with misdemeanors and felonies. She began as an Assistant Public Defender and worked her way up to the Deputy position.  Jae K. has spent most of her life in Richmond and earned her B.A. from Mary Baldwin College and J.D. from Syracuse University College of Law.


Secretariat of Veterans and Defense Affairs 

Rushawna Senior, Assistant Secretary for Veterans and Defense Affairs
Rushawna Senior has been appointed as Assistant Secretary for Veterans and Defense Affairs. Prior to her appointment, she served as the Senior Assistant to City of Richmond Mayor Levar M. Stoney. Prior to joining the Mayor’s Office she held the position of Policy Analyst to the Governor and previously worked at the Department of Motor Vehicles in the Business and Analytical Services Division. She received a Bachelor of Arts in Communications from Old Dominion University, and is receiving her Master’s in Public Administration from Virginia Tech. Rushawna is also a veteran of the Virginia Army National Guard.


Secretariat of Public Safety and Homeland Security

The Honorable Jean W. Cunningham, Vice Chair, Virginia Parole Board
Jean Wooden Cunningham, has served as a member of the Virginia Parole Board since her appointment in January of 2017. A former member of the Virginia House of Delegates who served from 1986-1998, Cunningham also previously served as Chair of the State Board of Elections and as a member of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia. In 2000, she retired from Alcoa, which had merged with Reynolds Metals, where she was Vice President of Human Resources for a major business unit and had for years served as an attorney. She has been a member of the McCammon mediation firm since 2004.


Joni L. Ivey, Member, Virginia Parole Board
Joni L. Ivey retired in 2017 after serving as the Chief of Staff for Congressman Robert C. “Bobby” Scott since 1994.  Prior to 1994, Ms. Ivey was Representative Scott’s Legislative Assistant in the Virginia General Assembly. Active in the community for more than 4 decades, Ms. Ivey was the first woman to be elected President of the Newport News Branch NAACP.  She is a member of the Hampton Links and the Junior League of Hampton Roads. Ms. Ivey is a native of Newport News, a graduate of George Washington Carver High School and Norfolk State University.


Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments


Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders Commission

  • Khurrum H. Khan of Reston, President, OurKare of Herndon
  • Lory L. Phillippo, MPH, OTR/L* of Richmond, Consultant in community-based long term and adult day care services


Board of Trustees of the Jamestown-Yorktown Foundation

  • Stephen R. Adkins* of Charles City, Chief, Chickahominy Tribe of Virginia
  • A.E. Dick Howard of Charlottesville, Warner-Booker Distinguished Professor of Law, University of Virginia
  • Cassandra L. Newby-Alexander, PhD of Chesapeake, Professor of History, Faculty Senate President, Director, Joseph Jenkins Roberts Center for African Diaspora Studies, Norfolk State University


Board of Trustees of the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

  • Janet T. Geldzahler, Esq. of Mechanicsville, Attorney of Counsel, Sullivan and Cromwell, LLP, Washington, DC
  • David R. Goode of  Norfolk,  Retired Chairman and CEO Norfolk Southern Corporation  
  • Pamela J. Royal, MD of Richmond, President, Royal Dermatology


Commonwealth Council on Aging

  • Davis Creef, JD of Richmond, Staff Attorney, Virginia Poverty Law Center; representing the 4th Congressional District
  • Joni C. Goldwasser, DNP, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC* of Roanoke, Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, Salem Veterans Administration Medical Center, Roanoke County and southwest Virginia; representing the 6th Congressional District
  • Andrew B. Hamilton of Big Stone Gap; representing the 9th Congressional District
  • Tresserlyn L. Jones, BS of Newport News, Associate State Director-Community Outreach / AARPVA; representing the 3rd Congressional District
  • Kathryn B. Reid, PhD, RN, FNP* of Charlottesville, Associate Professor, University of Virginia School of Nursing; representing the 5th Congressional District


Scientific Advisory Committee

  • Kathleen Corrado, PhD of Syracuse, New York,Director of Laboratories, Onondaga County Center for Forensic Sciences
  • Robin Cotton, PhD* of Bethesda, Maryland, Associate Professor, Boston University School of Medicine
  • Travis Spinder* of Lolo, Montana, Forensic Science Supervisor, Firearm and Toolmark Section, Montana Department of Justice, Division of Forensic Science, Missoula, MT


*denotes reappointment