This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: September 1, 2017
Contacts: Secretariat of the Commonwealth, Caroline Corl,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his Administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s Administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will build a new Virginia economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.

Office of the Governor

Noah Sullivan, Counsel to the Governor
Noah Sullivan has been appointed as Counsel to the Governor. Previously, he served as Deputy Counsel to the Governor. Prior to joining the Governor’s office, he was an associate at the law firm Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP in Washington, DC. He previously worked at Dominion Energy in corporate public policy. Noah is a native of Lynchburg, Virginia. He received a Bachelor of Arts in Government from the University of Virginia, graduating with Highest Distinction. While at U.Va., Noah also served as Student Body President. Noah received his JD from Stanford Law School. 


Secretariat of Veterans and Defense Affairs

Carlos Hopkins, Secretary of Veterans and Defense Affairs
Carlos Hopkins has been appointed Secretary of Veterans and Defense Affairs. He previously served as Counsel to the Governor. Prior to this he served as a Deputy City Attorney in Richmond. Before joining the City Attorney’s Office, Carlos operated a small, private practice. He served as the Training Director for the Virginia Indigent Defense Commission, and as a Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney in Richmond. In addition to his civilian legal experiences, Carlos holds the rank of Lieutenant Colonel in the Virginia Army National Guard. Carlos received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science and holds a law degree from the University of Richmond.


Secretariat of Public Safety and Homeland Security

Danielle Crowley, Executive Assistant 
Danielle Crowley has been appointed to the position of Executive Assistant to the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security.  She previously held the position of Special Assistant for Constituent Services. Danielle was a 2014 Governor’s Fellow in the Office of Constituent Services. Danielle has a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Christopher Newport University and recently completed her Master of Arts in Intelligence and International Security from King’s College London.


Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments


Board of Medicine

  • Lori D. Conklin, MD* of Charlottesville, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, Chief, Divisions of Vascular and Otolaryngological Anesthesia, University of Virginia Health Care System
  • Randi Kodroff, DO of Arlington, Lead Physician, Inova Medical Group
  • N. Ray Tuck Jr., DC* of Blacksburg, President/Owner, Tuck Chiropractic Clinic


Board of Nursing

  • Laura F. Cei, BS, LPN, CCRP of Richmond, Clinical Research Nurse Coordinator, Virginia Commonwealth University - Department of Internal Medicine/Division of Cardiology


Board for Professional and Occupational Regulation

  • Chika Anyadike of Richmond, Instructor, Virginia State University and Virginia Commonwealth University
  • H. Scott Johnson Jr.* of Fairfax County, Founding and Managing Member of PCT Law Group, PLLC


Board of Social Work

  • John M. Salay, LCSW* of Richmond, Director-Richmond, Agency Director for Development and Advocacy, Family Insight, PC


Board of Veterans Services

  • Julie K. Waters of McLean, Attorney, US Army Reserve


Fair Housing Board

  • Dean A. Lynch, CAE of Richmond, Executive Director of the Virginia Association of Counties
  • Larry B. Murphy* of Chester, President and CEO, Urban Development Corporation
  • Abigail D. Spanberger of Henrico, Former Operations Officer, Central Intelligence Agency


Local Government Advisory Committee to the Chesapeake Bay Executive Council

  • The Honorable Jasmine Gore of Hopewell, Vice Mayor and Ward 4 City Councilor, City of Hopewell
  • Charles "Chip" Jones of Montross, Vice Chair, Northern Neck Soil and Water Conservation District


Board of the Virginia Public Building Authority

  • Sarah Bane Williams* of Richmond, Senior Vice President, Village Bank


*denotes reappointment