This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: September 2, 2016
Contacts: Secretary of the Commonwealth's Office: Denise Burch,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


RICHMOND – Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his Administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s Administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will build a new Virginia economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth.


Secretariat of Public Safety and Homeland Security

Megan Peterson, Homeland Security and Resilience Group Staff Director 

Megan Peterson has been appointed to the position of Homeland Security and Resilience Group Staff Director in the Office of the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security. Prior to her appointment, Megan served as a Confidential Policy Advisor and Assistant for the Virginia Department of Emergency Management. Megan is currently a member of the Virginia State Bar and received her law degree from Washington and Lee University School of Law. Megan graduated Phi Beta Kappa and cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts in History and Political Science from the University of Vermont.


Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

Board of Game and Inland Fisheries

  • Leon Boyd* of Vansant, Vice President, Noah Horn Well Drilling
  • Douglas M. Dear of Great Falls, President, Chesapeake Ventures LLC
  • Esther M. Nizer of Elkton, Information Technology Training and Development Manager, James Madison University


Public Guardian and Conservator Advisory Board

  • Lisa C. Linthicum* of Rustburg, Director, Campbell County Department of Social Services
  • Lisa Moore* of Wytheville, CEO, Mt. Rogers Community Services Board
  • Robert C. T. Reed, Esq. of Henrico, Trial Attorney, Allen, Allen, Allen & Allen; Second Vice President, NAMI Virginia Board of Directors
  • Latroyal Smith Roxburgh, LCSW, CACI of Richmond, Clinical Director, The G.R.O.W.N. program
  • Cathy V. Thompson, MAEd* of Roanoke, Director of Older Adult Services & Public Guardianship, Family Service of Roanoke Valley
  • Elizabeth L. Wildhack, Esq. of Arlington, Thompson Wildhack, PLC


Virginia Coalfield Economic Development Authority

  • Esther Wells Bolling of Wise, President and CEO, Bolwell Financial Consultants, LTD; CEO, Southwestern Technology Council
  • Julie D. Hensley of Gate City, Attorney, Law Offices of Kallen Hensley
  • The Honorable D. Michael Hymes* of Tazewell, Chairman, Tazewell County Board of Supervisors; President, HY Performance Management Consulting, LLC
  • The Honorable Larry R. Mosley of Jonesville, Member, Lee County Board of Supervisors; retired, Coalmine Superintendent


*denotes reappointment