This news release is from the previous Governor's administration.
For Immediate Release: July 17, 2015
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Brian Coy, 804-225-4260, | Secretary of the Commonwealth’s Office: Denise Burch,

Governor McAuliffe Announces Administration Appointments


Governor Terry McAuliffe announced additional appointments to his administration today. The appointees will join McAuliffe’s administration focused on finding common ground with members of both parties on issues that will build a new Virginia economy and create more jobs across the Commonwealth. 

Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments


Advisory Board on Behavior Analysis 

  • Gary M. Fletcher of Midlothian, QA Release Officer/CQA, Fareva 
  • Kate Lewis, MS, BCBA, LBA* of Richmond, Director of Partnerships, Commonwealth Autism 

Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders Commission 

  • Laura Swanson Bowser of Richmond, Operations Manager, TMI Consulting Inc.
  • Carol Manning, PhD, ABPP-CN* of Charlottesville, Director of The Memory Disorders Clinic and an Associate Professor of Neurology at the University of Virginia; Vice Chair for Faculty Development in the Department of Neurology; Co-Chair of the School of Medicine Committee on Women; Chairman of the Board of the Central and Western Virginia Alzheimer's Association
  • Courtney Sheffield Tierney, MSW, CIRS-A, ICDVP, CPM* of Gainesville, Director of Prince William County Department of Social Services 

Assistive Technology Loan Fund Authority 

  • Sarah A. Liddle of Shawsville,  former Administrator, Virginia Board for People with Disabilities
  • Michael E. VanDyke* of Rosedale, Peer Counselor, Clinch Independent Living Services, Grundy 

Board of Pharmacy 

  • Freeda Cathcart, FLMI of Roanoke, civic leader; Policy Chair, GFWC Blue Ridge District; Vice-President, Unity of the Roanoke Valley church; retired International Certified Childbirth Educator; former Reinsurance Specialist, Shenandoah Life Insurance Company
  • Rafael Saenz, PharmD, MS, FASHP of Crozet, Administrator of Pharmacy Services for the University of Virginia Health System 

Board of Social Services 

  • Veronica Washington, PhD of Lynchburg, Virginia- Human Services Professional, specialization in social and community services-Director of VOW Village, LLC 

Conflict of Interest and Ethics Advisory Council 

  • Walter C. Erwin of Lynchburg, City Attorney, City of Lynchburg
  • Bernard L. Henderson, Jr. of Henrico, President, Woody Funeral Home; former Senior Deputy Secretary of the Commonwealth (2002-2010)
  • Sharon E. Pandak of Prince William, Partner, Greehan, Taves, Pandak & Stoner, PLLC 

Family and Children’s Trust Fund, Board of Trustees 

  • Nadine Marsh-Carter of Richmond, President & CEO of Children’s Home Society of Virginia 

State Air Pollution Control Board 

  • Nikki Rovner of Richmond, Associate State Director for External Affairs, The Nature Conservancy 

State Executive Council for Children’s Services 

  • The Honorable Mary W. Biggs of Blacksburg, Vice Chair, Montgomery County Board of Supervisors; Second Vice President for VACo- Virginia Association Of Counties
  • The Honorable Robert “Rob” Coleman* of Newport News, Vice Mayor; Major/Services Bureau Chief, Newport News Sheriff’s Office
  • Courtney D. Gaskins, PhD of Warrenton, Director of Program Service, Youth For Tomorrow-New Life Center, Inc.
  • The Honorable Catherine M. Hudgins* of Reston, Supervisor, Hunter Mill District, Fairfax County Board of Supervisors
  • Maurice T. Jones of Charlottesville, City Manager, City of Charlottesville
  • Melissa S. Peacor of Manassas, County Executive, Prince William County Government
  • Greg Peters, LCSW* of Richmond, President & Chief Executive Officer of United Methodist Family Services 

State Water Control Board 

  • Nissa Dean of Henrico, Virginia Director, Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay
  • Heather L. Wood* of Norfolk, Ports Market Sector Leader, Kennedy/Jenks Consultants 

Virginia Small Business Financing Authority 

  • John M. Hopper* of Richmond, Wealth Management
  • Brad Jiulianti of Richmond, Vice President, Small Business Card, Capital One
  • Andrew N. Lock of Virginia Beach, Executive Vice President & Chief Risk Officer, Monarch Financial Holdings, Inc. 

Virginia Nuclear Energy Consortium Authority 

  • William J. Briscoe of Charles Town, West Virginia, Chair, Department of Physics, George Washington University and Director, GW Institute of Nuclear Studies, GWINS
  • David A. Christian* of Toano, CEO, Dominion Generation
  • Mary Alice Hayward* of McLean, Vice President, Government Affairs & Advocacy, AREVA INC.
  • Woody Lawman of Midlothian, Director of Sales for Navy and Nuclear Products, Flowserve-Limitorque
  • Matthew J. Mulherin* of Yorktown, President, Newport News Shipbuilding 

*denotes reappointment